A question on duplicate content and it's effect on local organic SEO

I have read a lot into arguments back and forth over duplicate content.  I have a question about it but this is specific to local businesses and organic results, not the 3-pack or Maps results.

I am a member of a contractor forum in which there has been an argument in the business section about this topic.  The question is essentially this:

Let's say a plumbing contractor in Florida has a great website with 20 town based landing pages that have great content and give him very high rankings when people in those towns search for a plumber.  His town based landing pages come up higher than all the other plumbers in the organic results, even the plumbers who are physically based on those towns.

Now let's say, since he is only worried about the towns he services in Florida, that he lets other contractors in different states use his content, just changing out the business name and town names.  Since those other contractor's websites are in different states, they aren't competing with each other, a Florida contractor isn't going to come up when someone in Washington searches for a plumber in their town.

Would those other contractors get the same benefits from that good content as the first one who used it?  Would they get less benefit (not so good rankings)?  Or would they get penalized?

• 4 weeks later...
Run a Full Website Scan in Minutes

Two things:

1. The content has a minimal impact on rankings. Links and, in the case of local rankings, citations play a much bigger role than any content in rankings.
  2. Google doesn't consider that duplicate content. Duplicate content is the same content showing up on the same site repeatedly. What you are talking about is syndicated content.