Is All The Buzz About Facebook Ads Just BS?

Wunderkind

I'm curious if anyone out there is having any real success with Facebook ads. I've been experimenting with them for 6 months now, and I am less than impressed. This is across multiple niches.

I have found they work well for building a following to Facebook business or fan type page. However, for selling a service or a product, they have performed so much worse than AdWords. They are certainly cheaper, but the ROI is garbage on most of the campaigns I have run.

There has been a ton of buzz and no shortage of internet marketers putting out their latest courses on how to make a bazillion dollars using Facebook ads. I'm wondering if there is some big secret I am missing or if they are just full of shit and following the usual MO of preying on people that don't know any better.

Maybe I have no idea what I am doing. I have managed to turn my campaigns into something that is moderately profitable, but my ROI in AdWords blows them out of the water. 

What got me interested in trying this is that if I can figure it out, there are a lot of niches I wouldn't touch with AdWords because of the high costs, but there might be opportunities in Facebook instead at a much lower cost. 

Just curious what kind of experiences others have had with Facebook ads. 

I was going to post something like this at that other place, but I know what kind of responses I would get. It would likely be people either trying to sell me something or people who have never run a single Facebook campaign, but would love to give me advice anyhow. :huh:

Run a Full Website Scan in Minutes

I've been studying the ads that come across on my page(s) for a while now.  Honestly, I can't see the value in them.  

1 hour ago, Wunderkind said:

I have found they work well for building a following to Facebook business or fan type page.

^^ This.  I've joined two groups because of one of my 'friends' liking a business page.